top of page

Sunday run

Had a run out today to the Ariel owners club AGM in Rothley, Leicestershire UK (it was sunny). The bike drew a lot of attention and some great comments on the restoration. I was a proud man, it is great to get have your work apprteciated. Tightening those engine mounting studs has certainly reduced the vibration. The new front brake shoes...well I am not so sure. They are definitely working over their full surface area as I have arced them to the drum but there is still no real power. So.......choices are lengthening the brake arm or sending the new shoes off to Villiersservices to have some different linings put on. The speedometer appears to not want to go over 75mph (sorry officer) moving from three quarters to full throttle does not do much. I am going to order a 290 main jet (270 fitted at present) to see if it is running a bit weak. It does not have an air filter. I have also downloaded a GPS speedo app for my phone so I can check how accurate the speedo is. I'll post an update of how accurate the speedo is.

Recent Posts
bottom of page