top of page

Speedometer check

Tested the accuracy of the speedo with a GPS app on my phone. Made up a 'cradle' for the phone to sit in and attached it to the tank grid with two strong magnets from an old computer hard drive:

Found that up to 15 mph it was reading 8 to 9 mph slow but from there up to 65 mph it was reading a consistant 4 mph slow. At 70 it was spot on !!. I was suprised it was so accurate. I got it up to 71mph true speed but then the speedo decided to play up and the needle swung quickly round to 85mph and back. I think the cable may have come loose, below 70 it was fine.

Another issue was that at 70 mph vibration caused the 'cradle' to walk up the tank grid and off the end so I need to secure it better for future tests.

And yes..the app shows 2 mph and its not going anywhere, it was Ok yesterday...must be something to do with satalite positioning, in the UK around 3 pm a lot of them are low in the sky

Recent Posts
bottom of page